girl-1208307__180“Stop waiting for Friday, for summer, for someone to fall in love with you, for life. Happiness is achieved when you stop waiting for it and make the most of the moment you are in now.”

Guest blogger Libbie Atchison writes: I once read that quote and the words struck me—like they were written to me. I knew I was caught in the cycle of waiting. Waiting for the weekend. Waiting for holidays. Waiting for summer. I knew I was constantly making countdowns like five days until spring break or three weeks until my birthday. I knew I was causing myself to live in the future. The saddest part of this realization was that I told myself if I made it to that date, I would be okay and life would be happy again. Those anticipated days and little countdowns helped me get through the monotonous days.

Some don’t see a problem with looking forward to upcoming events or counting down the days until an awaited moment. I don’t see a problem with it either. But when our life revolves around waiting and crossing off the days in our calendars, organizer-791883__180.jpgthere is no contentment in the here and now; there is no purpose to everyday life. Always looking to the future prevents us from seeing what’s right in front of us, the people standing there, and the opportunities that need to be taken.

I would like to own the attitude of living every day as if it’s my last, to wake up and start each day with a clear purpose. But, let’s be honest. That’s hard and not completely realistic. Some days are just difficult and need to end as quickly as they began. But I think if we dropped the countdowns and stopped waiting for Friday, we would see each day as its very own. We would view the days as days filled with lessons to learn, people to love, and opportunities to seize. Suddenly, happiness won’t come in 15 days. It will come every day woman-570883__180because we will be aware of the potential the day holds. Life won’t seem monotonous, but bright, changing, and eventful. If we stop waiting for Friday, we might just be able to make the most of the moments we live in right now.

 

 

