Fall is definitely in the air. The leaves are starting to cover the ground. Temperatures have gotten cooler and our clothes warmer. And, for many of us, fall break is coming up. It’s the perfect time to plan a fun trip with family and friends. My guest blogger this week, Caroline Clements, talks about getting out and enjoying nature at our national parks.

leaves-228111__180

Caroline writes: Vacations are a nice getaway from real life and can be adventurous or relaxing. If you are looking for an adventurous vacation spot, I would highly recommend visiting one of our national parks.

This summer, my family and I took a vacation to Yellowstone, where we had many adventurous experiences. While all of our expectations were exceeded, some of my favorite parts of the trip were the following:

  • Animal sightings. While in Yellowstone, my family and I experienced many animal sightings. We saw herds of bison, moose, elk, a mama bear and some cubs, a gray wolf, and a bald eagle.
  • Old Faithful. This geyser erupts every 90 minutes and is surrounded by forty or so separate geysers that erupt at different intervals throughout the day. Visitors can walk trails that guide and provide information about each of the geysers.
  • Paragliding. On one of the last days of our trip, my brother and I got to experience flying. We jumped off the side of a mountain and floated in the safety of our glider. My guide was a “dare-devil,” so he took me on turns, flips, and tricks in the air.

yellowstone-national-park-1589616__180Overall, Yellowstone was a very entertaining and adventurous vacation, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys being in nature. But if you can’t make it to Yellowstone, no worries. There are national and state parks all around us where you can take advantage of the outdoors and the beautiful weather this time of year.

